Patient Reviews

Reviews for Birmingham, AL Ophthalmologist Dr. Young Choi

Patient Feedback

Having healthy eyes is essential when it comes to living comfortably and interacting with the world around you. When you stay on top of your eye care, you can prevent a wide range of diseases and catch other complications early on before they can negatively affect you. At inVision Ophthalmology, our board-certified ophthalmologist and optometrists have the training and expertise to keep your eyes healthy and seeing clearly. Whether you're wanting LASIK, need treatment for dry eyes, or have to get a more invasive treatment, you can trust that you're in good hands when you visit our eye health family in Central Alabama. Read through our many patient reviews to help you decide if our team in Birmingham and Tuscaloosa is the perfect fit for you and your loved ones.

Filter27 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 13, 2021

So professional! Great staff!! I can SEE!! Great experience!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 11, 2021

Utilizing top notch technology, Dr. Choi provides an excellent patient experience. He is warm and personable, professional and highly skilled. Cataracts at 45 were unexpected, but Dr. Choi put me at ease and the surgery went better than I expected. His staff is kind, knowledgeable, and exhibited professionalism each time I went to the office. I highly recommend Dr. Choi for eye surgery or needs beyond your optometrist. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 09, 2021

I am an interventional cardiologist from Florida and I had very bad near vision with astigmatism, and my wife is a retired RN who had difficulty reading. I researched for about 2 weeks for the best opthalmologist to correct my and my wife's vision. I would have traveled to anywhere in the United States since it involves our vision. Luckily, the best candidate I found was Dr Choi, who was only a 5 hour drive away. My wife and I went to Dr Choi for consultation. We were lucky to get appointments quickly during the pandemic. Initially I thought we were going to get the SMILE procedure, but Dr Choi recommended intraocular lens replacement. Both of us eventually got our vision corrected by intraocular lens implants. Our procedures went perfectly and I now have perfect vision. I am also a consultant for the FAA and I have been recommending Dr Choi to the pilots who want vision correction. We are so grateful to Dr Choi and his staff. We could not be happier. Francis K. Le, MD More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 09, 2021

I am an interventional cardiologist from Florida and I had very bad near vision with astigmatism, and my wife is a retired RN who had difficulty reading. I researched for about 2 weeks for the best opthalmologist to correct my and my wife's vision. I would have traveled to anywhere in the United States since it involves our vision. Luckily, the best candidate I found was Dr Choi, who was only a 5 hour drive away. My wife and I went to Dr Choi for consultation. We were lucky to get appointments quickly during the pandemic. Initially I thought we were going to get the SMILE procedure, but Dr Choi recommended intraocular lens replacement. Both of us eventually got our vision corrected by intraocular lens implants. Our procedures went perfectly and I now have perfect vision. I am also a consultant for the FAA and I have been recommending Dr Choi to the pilots who want vision correction. We are so grateful to Dr Choi and his staff. We could not be happier. Francis K. Le, MD More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 09, 2021

I am an interventional cardiologist from Florida and I had very bad near vision with astigmatism, and my wife is a retired RN who had difficulty reading. I researched for about 2 weeks for the best opthalmologist to correct my and my wife's vision. I would have traveled to anywhere in the United States since it involves our vision. Luckily, the best candidate I found was Dr Choi, who was only a 5 hour drive away. My wife and I went to Dr Choi for consultation. We were lucky to get appointments quickly during the pandemic. Initially I thought we were going to get the SMILE procedure, but Dr Choi recommended intraocular lens replacement. Both of us eventually got our vision corrected by intraocular lens implants. Our procedures went perfectly and I now have perfect vision. I am also a consultant for the FAA and I have been recommending Dr Choi to the pilots who want vision correction. We are so grateful to Dr Choi and his staff. We could not be happier. Francis K. Le, MD More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 15, 2021

The place was nice and clean The staffing was great They treated me very well Very professional Keep up the good work More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 15, 2021

Dr. Choi and his staff are wonderful. Couldn’t ask for a better experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.R.  |  Source: Google  |  May 28, 2021

What can i say it was like the classic cinematic trick in the Wizard of Oz where Kansas was filmed in black and white then when Dorothy arrived in Oz it was in color. The staff was wonderful and I also had vision correction in left eye. I had bad vision all of my life and RK surgery complicated the cataract surgery and the vision i now have at my age is amazing. Great job. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Google  |  May 26, 2021

Really nice and knowledgeable staff More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.H.  |  Source: Google  |  May 19, 2021

It was good, the first day on the right eye I did have to wait around 3 hours to get called back for the surgery. The left eye I was in and out in 30 mins. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.W.  |  Source: Google  |  May 19, 2021

Dr. Choi is terrific. I had cataract & astigmatism correction surgery on my left eye May 5th & Dr. Choi & his staff put me at ease immediately. They are professional, caring & very knowledgeable, answering my many questions. Surgery was done painlessly & successfully under mild sedative (no anesthesia). I'm looking forward to Dr. Choi doing same surgery on right eye May 19th. I highly recommend Dr. Choi! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.H.  |  Source: Google  |  May 19, 2021

Dr. Choi is a highly skilled surgeon who exhibited an extremely reassuring manner about my procedure. I have had wonderful results and I am highly pleased with my improved vision. I would recommended Dr. .Choi and his staff for their outstanding care, attention to details, and overall professional excellence in treating their patients. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.S.  |  Source: Google  |  May 02, 2021

Wonderful people working and all very very nice. The doctor was great and I appreciated very much his prayer at the beginning of surgery. God bless each of them More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.H.  |  Source: Google  |  May 02, 2021

All went well and quite fast! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 02, 2021

Dr. Choi did my tri-focal lens replacement in mid-January and I am very happy. My wife and I are saving to have hers done there as well. Healing has been exactly what the Dr. stated it would be. I was a tad impatient on the front side expecting miracles immediately and failed to realize the body needs time to heal. I was super pumped since I wore glasses for 37 years (this includes most of my childhood). Thank you Dr. Choi for opening up a new and exiting world to me. I would also like to state all of the staff is nothing short of excellent. Thanks to everyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 02, 2021

Thank you Dr. Choi for the my vision! Feels good to not have to wear contacts or glasses ever again! Strongly recomment choosing Dr. Choi if you need lasik, he is a very caring doctor with a very professional staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 02, 2020

You are in good hands with Dr. Choi. He has a rare gift. Not only as a highly skilled surgeon, but also as a kind, patient, caring physician. His kindness is reflected through his awesome staff. AND I CAN SEE! For the first time in my life, I can see the leaves on the trees, the individual flowers, my husband’s eyelashes! Without glasses! Thanks for a priceless gift. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 02, 2020

The best caring ophthalmologist you could see. Has done 2 types of surgery on me in the last 11 years. Very pleased with all my care. Also done surgery on my husband and he is also very pleased with his care. Excellent care . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.O.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 02, 2020

I am beyond impressed with my recent Lasix by Dr. Choi! They all made me feel very safe and comfortable the whole time. Dr. Choi took his time explaining and weighing options. I felt like he actually cared and I wasn’t just another patient. I love my new eyes! I can finally see!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 02, 2020

I 💯 recommend Dr. Choi for Cataract Eye Surgery, LASIK, SMILE, YAG, SLT, and Goniatomy - among other clinical procedures offered. He and his staff are extremely friendly and accommodating (especially during COVID-19) Not to mention, it is the nicest surgical facility I have ever seen! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 02, 2020

Had a perfect result with my surgery. I’m very happy with the experience. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  May 31, 2019

Excellent doctor - Dr. Choi performed intra-ocular surgery on both my eyes, and I have been so pleased with the results. After wearing contacts/glasses for 27 years, I am now completely free of them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 24, 2019

Performed cataract surgery on both eyes 5 years ago. My vision improved markedly and has remained excellent to present. His O.D. Dr. Gregory is also excellent and the imaging test equipment including ultrasound is state of the art. They monitor my angle closure glaucoma every 4 months with pressures of 10 in each eye. Vision last appointment (March 2019) was 20/15. Not bad for 76 years old. Great doctors, great office!!!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 24, 2018

Friendly and professional in both office and outpatient surgery hospital. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 17, 2017

Had Lasik surgery from Dr. Choi he was very professional and answered any questions. Was scheduled for surgery the following week. Surgery was quick and I'm in my third week of recovery. My eyesight went from a prescription -2.75/-3 to 20/20. Money very well spent. Would recommend anyone wanting or thinking about Lasik to him. Very nice man. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 08, 2016

Dr. Choi is an excellent surgeon. I had cataracts removed and astigmatism corrected in both eyes. My vision is very good. My dependency on glasses has been greatly reduced. Great bedside manner - very calming, answers questions, spends plenty of time with patients. He even prayed with me before the surgery. Beautiful office. His office is always crowded and that is because of his excellent expertise and personality. Staff is OK. I do trust him to do further surgery if necessary. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jun 04, 2016

Five Stars - He is a very special doctor. He himself called to check on me after I had cataract surgery. He puts his patients at ease and treats them like they are his only patient. He is one of a kind. I'll recommend him to all my friends. He's the best. Thanks again. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.